Signaling by Non-Receptor Tyrosine Kinases

Stable Identifier
Homo sapiens
Locations in the PathwayBrowser

In addition to receptor tyrosine kinases, the human genome encodes at least 32 non-receptor tyrosine kinases (non-RTKs). These cytosolic tyrosine kinases lack a transmembrane domain but are recruited into signal transduction cascades through interaction with other plasma-bound receptors, which may or may not themselves have intrinsic catalytic activity. In this way, non-RTKs essentially function as an (additional) enzymatic subunit of the signaling complex and contribute to many of the same downstream signaling pathways. The non-RTKs can be grouped into 9 families (ABL, FES, SYK, JAK, TEC, FAK, ACK, SRC, FRK and CSK) based on their domain structure (reviewed in Neet and Hunter, 1996).

Literature References
PubMed ID Title Journal Year
9140060 Vertebrate non-receptor protein-tyrosine kinase families Genes Cells 1996
Participant Of
Orthologous Events